Simple Things

Simple things sometimes lead to something far more complicated. That has been the case with the cutouts I started doing for Oregon (other states on request). A friend in MT was doing something like this for his state and told me he was okay with me using the idea for Oregon. In return I’ll send requests for MT to him because that’s what friends do.

The complicated part comes when I start trying to make variations on a theme and use different materials for the inserts. The rusty metal has been a hit in the large cutouts, and I have now added it to the mid size as well. Scaling down is easy, scaling up is proving more difficult. I want to add chalkboard to the bigger cutout, but the opening is bigger than the boards I can get currently. Same issue with the mirrors that I have, too small, and the cutouts being contoured on the end makes it impossible for me to cut them to shape.

Yep, I see a design change in the future so I can make straight cuts and still be able to put mirror on the larger cutouts. Chalkboard paint and hard board will solve the problem with the larger cutouts in that respect.

We have also been asked if we make a full US map, so will have to look in to that as well, but that will mean the states must be much smaller or the person will need a Very big wall!

For now, enjoy these; let me know if you would like to have one for your wall and look for a new design in the near future.

Oregon cutouts 6-10-18

Leave a comment